Week 1

For the first week, I started off by researching about ways that I can measure my body fat percentage and I found five different ways. Throughout my journal entries, I will be trying different methods to measure body fat %

Measure Body Fat Percentage #1: Skin Fold Caliper

skinfoldcalipers1

First one was the skin fold caliper, which includes a ruler looking caliper that measures the thickness of each area and calculates body fat % through a formula.

Measure Body Fat Percentage #2: Bioelectric Impedance Analysis

ON-HBF400-2

The second method is the scale that can calculate your body fat %, which I am currently using. This method is cheap and common but also can be inaccurate.

Measure Body Fat Percentage #3: Anthropometric

512px-Tape_measure_colored

The third method I found was the anthropometric method, which measures the circumference of body to calculate body fat %.

Measure Body Fat Percentage #4: Hydrostatic Weighing

hydrostatic-weighing-1

The third method I found was the anthropometric method, which measures the circumference of body to calculate body fat %.

Measure Body Fat Percentage #5: DEXA Scan

dexa

The last method I found was the DEXA Scan method, which is a machine that analysis the body and how much fat is contained within the body.

Body-Fat-Percent-Chart

Also I researched the ideal body fat % to set a goal for myself. According to the scale that I am using I am 137.2 pounds with 22.5% body fat percentage which falls under ‘fitness’ part of this table shown below. However, because of the inaccuracy that might be caused by the scale, I will be doing a different body fat percentage test within next couple weeks.

sxd-accu-measure-instructions-chart

Leave a comment